get rid of “copy” suffix when copying layers in Photoshop

As you know, every time you copy a layer or a group in Photoshop, it automatically adds that “copy” suffix to layer name. And if that makes you furious as in my case (altough you needn’t to be furious at all to continue reading), here’s solution how to turn that feature off.

(This works in Photoshop CS5 and i think in CS4 as well. Not sure about earlier versions.)

  1. in the top bar of your Layers window in Photoshop, locate the icon on the right and click
  2. select Panel Options… near the bottom
  3. uncheck “Add ‘copy’ to Copied Layers and Groups
  4. [OK]

And there you go!

bonus – don’t expand new effects

I’ve noticed that option in Panel Options… as previously mentioned and unchecked that too. It won’t automatically expand list of applied effects on layers when using Blending. I don’t know how about you, but I’m usually having too much layers at once, so I tend to save space.

are you educated better than me?

I hope so! Maybe you could share your wisdom with me on how to force newly copied Layers/Groups below the original one. Hmm? Anyone? :)

 

wbar dock panel

dock panelů (takových, jaké můžete znát z mac os x) existuje nejen pro linux pěkná hromada. mě se nejvíce osvědčil wbar, jehož instalací a nastavením vás provedu. nejdříve se však přesvědčte, co vlastně umí a jak se chová, ať po instalaci nenadávate nad ztraceným časem .]

wbar slouží ke (stylovému) spouštění aplikací. narozdíl např. od velmi oblíbeného AWN (avant window navigatoru), však nemůže plnohodnotně nahradit celý panel, z důvodu absence taskbaru, systraye a hodin.. jako doplněk k samotnému panelu však slouží dokonale. Continue reading